2018 Capital Theatre Award Winners Announced

The following article is courtesy of Iris Winston, edited only for formatting here.

The Capital Theatre Awards for plays presented in English in the national capital area during the 2017-2018 season were announced today.

Best professional production 
Gracie by Joan MacLeod, directed by Eric Coates, GCTC

Best community production
Mamma Mia! Music and lyrics by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus, book by Catherine Johnson, Orpheus Musical Theatre Society, directed by Shaun Toohey, musical director Chris Santillan and choreographer Susie Bregg-Krzyzanowski

Best director (professional)
Kim Collier for carried away on the crest of a wave by David Yee, an NAC English Theatre production

Best director (community)
Jim Holmes for Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike by Christopher Durang, Kanata Theatre

Best actor (professional)
Zach Counsil for his performance as the salesman in Snake Oil by Jayson McDonald, directed by Dave Dawson, Black Sheep Theatre

Best actor (community)
Shaun Toohey for his performance as Ned Weeks in The Normal Heart by Larry Kramer, TotoToo Theatre, directed by Jim McNabb and Shaun Toohey

Best actress (professional)
Catherine McNally for her performance as Mrs. Kitty Warren in Mrs. Warren’s Profession by George Bernard Shaw, directed by Laurel Smith, Classic Theatre Festival

Best actress (community)
Chrissy Hollands as Sonia in Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike.

Tartan Award for best design (professional)
Camellia Koo for the set and costume design of carried away on the crest of a wave by David Yee.

Tartan Award for best design (community)
Heidi Roberts for the set design of Arsenic and Old Lace by Joseph Kesselring, Kanata Theatre, directed by Jim Clarke

The Audrey Ashley Award
The Audrey Ashley Award for a body of work is named for the late Audrey Ashley, the Ottawa Citizen’s longest serving theatre reviewer, and sponsored by theatre producer Barbara Crook Greenberg, a former theatre critic at the Ottawa Citizen and the Vancouver Sun.

Because this is the twentieth year of the Capital Theatre Awards and the finale of presenting awards to theatre practitioners outstanding in their fields, there are to be two Audrey Ashley Awards. They go to two publicists whose work has been outstanding over several years: Matthew Behrens of the Classic Theatre Festival and Sean Fitzpatrick of the National Arts Centre English Theatre.

Winners receive cash awards, plaques and commemorative certificates.

Hosted by the National Arts Centre, the 2018 Capital Theatre Awards are sponsored by Barbara Crook Greenberg, Tartan Homes, Alan Dean Photography, Nicholas Wojtas Photography and Coyle Publishing.

For further information, contact:
Iris Winston
Telephone: 613 256-4747
Email: iris.home@sympatico.ca